

COUNTY OF ONONDAGA
Office of the
County Comptroller

John H. Mulroy Civic Center, 14th Floor 421 Montgomery Street Syracuse, New York 13202-2998 (315) 435-2130 • Fax (315) 435-2250 www.ongov.net James V. Maturo
Deputy Comptroller/Accounting

Philip M. Britt
Deputy Comptroller/Audit

News Release

Dated: February 18, 2011

County Comptroller Antonacci Founding Member of NYSECCA

As the attached press release indicates, the eight elected County Comptrollers from across the State have formally organized their efforts.

Robert E. Antonacci II, CPA, Onondaga County Comptroller, stated "Drawing upon the experience and knowledge of my fellow elected comptrollers has been very useful. We have met informally, spoken frequently and have shared audit ideas and procedures the past several years."

"I look forward to continuing my relationship with these financial professionals, as we are all facing the same challenges," Antonacci said.

For further information, please review the attached joint press release or call Robert E. Antonacci at 435-2130.

NOTE: There is no membership fee or cost to the County taxpayers for participation in this organization.

-more-

NEWS FROM THE

NEW YORK STATE ELECTED COUNTY COMPTROLLERS' ASSOCIATION

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release February 17, 2011

Contact:

Mark Cornell

716-858-8404 (Office)

COMPTROLLERS JOINTLY ANNOUNCE THE FORMATION OF THE NEW YORK STATE ELECTED COUNTY COMPTROLLERS' ASSOCIATION (NYSECCA)

Association Will Ensure the Effective Use of Government Resources Across New York

Earlier this month elected comptrollers from across the state convened to formalize a relationship that has been evolving over the past several years.

The newly formed New York State Elected County Comptrollers' Association (NYSECCA) is a non-partisan collaboration committed to protecting the integrity and independence of their oversight role in county government.

Elected comptrollers are charged with independent oversight of governmental operations. There are eight elected county comptrollers in New York State and together they want to ensure their "watchdog" status provides the most effective services to their constituencies.

"County Comptrollers hold a unique position across New York State. We all are committed to promoting the efficient and effective use of government resources," said Erie County Comptroller Mark Poloncarz, "and we enhance our service when we share expertise."

"There is a synergy among us that strengthens our roles," according to Ulster County Comptroller Elliott Auerbach. "We find that we face many of the same challenges and working together we add value to the results we produce," said Auerbach.

The eight elected county comptrollers are:

Michael Connors of Albany County	518-447-7130
James Coughlan of Dutchess County	845-486-2056
Mark Poloncarz of Erie County	716-858-8404
George Maragos of Nassau County	516-571-2386
Joseph Timpano of Oneida County	315-798-5780
Robert Antonacci of Onondaga County	315-435-2130
Joseph Sawicki, Jr. of Suffolk County	631-853-5040
Elliott Auerbach of Ulster County	845-340-3529

The mission of NYSECCA is to promote and protect the essential independence of comptrollers, strengthen their oversight role, protect the integrity of local government decision-making from increased state interference, provide opportunities for joint self-reflection, and to share expertise and best practices.

The position of elected county comptroller exists in counties governed by locally adopted charters. As a result, each comptroller's job description varies slightly with the most significant difference being that three of the eight are also the chief fiscal officer of their county.

NYSECCA is a collaboration with no established hierarchy. Individual comptrollers may be reached for comment at the phone numbers above.

* * * * *